Nursery rhymes for the modern Mum

Being a stay at home mum poses many challenges, but my biggest challenge is keeping my daughter entertained, while maintaining some semblance of sanity.

I really had no idea of what to do with a baby, let alone how to entertain one. I had faint recollections of a few nursery rhymes, like Itsy Bitsy Spider and Old MacDonald, but honestly, I found singing them pretty boring and so did my Tilly.

So here are some of the ridiculous songs that we sing…

Cheeky Monkey (Tilly’s nickname)

Version 1

Oh monkey, monkey HA

You’re such a cheeky monkey

Hey, monkey monkey – ah ha-ha, my cheeky monkey

Oh monkey , monkey

Wow! My cheeky, cheeky monkey

Ay, monkey-monkey – wa-wa-wa my cheeky monkey!

Version2

Cheeky monkey, cheeky-cheeky monkey

Cheeky monkey, cheeky cheeky monkey

Cheeky monkey, cheeky cheeky monkey

Squeaky monkey, cheeky squeaky monkey

Monkey monkey, cheeky little monkey

Wowser (drum and base edition)

Da-dada-da–Da-da-da

WOWSER

Da-dada-da–Da-da-da

WOWSER

Da-dada-da–Da-da-da

WOWSER

I love you so much

I love you so much, da-da–da-da

I love you so much, da-da–da-da

So, so much, so much, so much, so much

Da-da-DA

Kissy Feet (Necessary action: Kiss feet in breaks)

Kissy feet, kissy-kissy-kissy feet

Kissy feet, kissy-kissy-kissy-feet

Little feet, tiny little, little feet

Kissy feet, kissy-kissy-kissy feet
By now you would have realised that I still have no idea of how to entertain a baby!

#mumlife

